London Film Academy

BFI Film Academy for Young Filmmakers 16-19 year old

Are you 16-19 and from the UK? Passionate about film? Want a career in the film industry?

If so, the BFI Film Academy is for you. This course offers you the chance to be part of our future film industry.

LFA is delighted to partner with the BFI to deliver a course that is designed to offer the perfect way to introduce young people to practical filmmaking. Offering a variety of training and workshops in the main areas of filmmaking, this course will culminate in the production of live action shorts, which can serve as the starting point for a career in film.

 

Course Features

As a student of the Film Academy you will:

  • get hands-on filmmaking experience which will help you to develop practical knowledge and skills
  • explore your own creativity and passions in a supportive and dynamic environment
  • gain invaluable experience working alongside industry professionals who are respected practitioners in their field
  • watch a range of cinema from British Independent to specialised films
  • learn how to write and direct - how to generate stories and how to communicate with actors
  • gain an understanding of each of the different roles involved in making films - from story, to script to screen, with workshops in cinematography, sound, editing and producing
  • work in teams towards a practical film-based project.

The BFI Film Academy for Young Filmmakers will take place from 2 October 2021 - 16 January 2022 (see dates below). 

We value diversity and welcome applications from members of under-represented groups within the film industry. 

 

Supporting the Safety of Our Students during COVID-19

At London Film Academy, students are at the heart of everything we do and our priority is first and foremost the health and wellbeing of our students, staff and tutors.

Find out how the LFA is continuing to deliver practical courses safely

 

FEES & FUNDING

The cost for Accepted applicants is £25 - Do not send any payment unless your application is successful. If you will struggle to pay the course fee, don’t be put off as you will be able to indicate this once you are accepted on the course and this fee can be waived. Bursaries will also be made available if you require assistance with travel, child care or other costs. More information about who can apply for bursaries can be found in the application form.

ENTRY REQUIREMENTS

To qualify, you need to be aged between 16-19, be resident in the UK and NOT in further education (i.e. not currently attending University) or have previously attended a BFI Film Academy course. 

The BFI Film Academy for Young Filmmakers will take place from 2 October 2021 - 16 January 2022. 

We value diversity and welcome applications from members of under-represented groups within the film industry. 

APPLY + COURSE DATES & FEES

To apply online please click on the course date below.

  • 02 October 2021 - 16 January 2022
    Course Fee: £ 25

    Applications for 2021 are now open. To apply, please click the APPLY NOW button below. 
    Workshops will take place in the evenings and on weekends on the following dates:

    Saturday 2 October
    Sunday 3 October
    Saturday 9 October
    Sunday 10 October
    Saturday 16 October
    Sunday 17 October
    Monday 25 October
    Tuesday 26 October
    Wednesday 27 October
    Saturday 30 October

    Sunday 31 October
    Saturday 20 November
    Sunday 21 November
    Saturday 4 December
    Sunday 5 December
    Saturday 8 January
    Sunday 9 January
    Saturday 15 January
    Sunday 16 January

x
This website is using cookies. More info. That's Fine